Day #1ImageImageImageImageImageImageToday is day #1 of our time here in Charleston. Our townhouse is adorable—It is owned by a young family that has lived here for the first part of their children’s lives and decided to upgrade to a house just around the corner. We are talking about top of the line real estate here. It is in the area of Broad street where residents live and dwell in a pristine neighborhood setting with history all around them. The waterfront of the Ashley River is just a stones throw away. If you know about the Battery, then you know where we are. We got lucky when we found this place on VRBO.com.

With beautiful weather, we started with brunch this morning at Hominy Grill. We had Crew with us, and I always ask to sit outside in case he starts getting fussy. Nothing more that makes me nervous than a restaurant looking at me because I am holding an inconsolable baby! Well, it came as a nice surprise that the outdoor seating was “community” style. We were seated at the same table with a lovely family from Fayetteville, NC. The husband and wife that were our age, moved to the peninsula of Charleston two years ago. We had a great time talking and learning about what they had discovered. Some of the tips they gave us, we will be trying out in the coming weeks and I will be writing about it.

We walked around the historic area after brunch. It was a wonderful day weather wise with such nice temperatures. Fall is in the air here in Charleston! 

We ended the day by sitting out by Colonial Lake and watching the sun set. We are in an area that is very residential. I think we are the only tourists around.

If you look at the photos I posted, they are of residences I came across today that had wonderful examples of “architectural landscaping”. What I mean by that is climbing roses, window boxes, and ivy that really strengthen the architecture of the house. I think my favorite is the house with the climbing roses. I bet it is beautiful when the roses are in full bloom.

Check back in with me tomorrow. I am dropping Rocky off at MUSC to start his Dermatology rotation in the AM. Then, I am off to explore the history and work on my commercial project The Heritage at Arlington. I hope to find antiques for the clubhouse as well as order some pieces I find for the model.

On to tomorrow

xoxo

Jordan

