Wednesdays are always fun days as you’ve made it through the tough Monday and Tuesday rigors and you can see the horizon  of the weekend. This Wednesday was a bright and cheery one here in Charleston. The air lets me know it is bringing in the Fall.

I am beginning to realize I am on a routine here… I did what I normally do each morning which is drop Rocky off at the hospital at 7:30 and then walk with the dogs and Crew. Between their walks and the dog park, they are more active than they have ever been. When I get back to Greenville, I need to be sure to keep it up or they are not going to be happy with me. In fact, I think there are many things I am going to do differently when I return to Greenville. First, If I do not have to get in the car, I am not. I have always preferred walking to places but felt like I was the only one. Now, I see that most people here do that. Second, I am going to cook with what is in season. Rather than buying all the forced, imported produce, I am going to buy whats fresh for the time of year we are in. With that being said, I will need to read about different recipes and cooking techniques for seasonal veggies and such in the fall and winter. As Americans, we lose touch with “seasonality”  because we can get all produce all the time. It has been beet season recently which means in all the local markets and cafes, beets have been all over the menus. It makes sense that they are delicious, because they are right out of the soil. Its such a great concept to go from farm to table. Look at this from Cooking Light. It discusses what you can use that is in season and how to prepare it. I look forward to winter squash, apples, pears, pumpkins, cabbage, broccoli, arugula, and figs to name a few.

From this little book called “Very Charleston”, (click link to see book) I have been learning about neat little facts about the area. This book is so perfect for realizing neat quirks about the city that you otherwise would pass right by. One of the neat stories in the book is about the East Battery and the DeSausure House. “The second owner Louis DeSaussure was living here on April 12, 1861 at 3:30am when the first shots of the civil war were fired on Fort Sumter. The shelling continued for 34 hours. DeSaussure invited guests to gather on the roof and piazzas of this house where  they toasted and cheered the “Fireworks”. ” Little did they know what had just begun. Another interesting note is that the shutter color known as “Charleston Green” originated when, after the civil war, the north donated black paint to spruce up the buildings that suffered damage from the war. It is said that the southerners and Charleston locals were hesitant to use this paint because after all it was “yankee” paint. “They found that mixing 2 parts Black and 1 part “Rebel” yellow produced a dark green that has become Charleston’s signature color.”

Brumby and Crew are buddies . Stetson is too, of course, but he doesn’t snuggle up with Crew like Brumby does. Crew now realizes that they are interesting to look at and reach out to touch. Its amazing watching him explore new things every day!

