Friday is the best day to go out and enjoy the scenery in a destination town like Charleston. Everyone is so happy and vivacious! There is a bubbling of anticipation within the restaurants and the stores knowing that all of the people are coming to the city to enjoy it.

When I first came to Charleston years ago, I fell in love with a store called South of Market owned by Kay Douglass on King St. The first time I came here, I had no business or anything of the sort. I was merely a college student finding my way. (Id like to point out that I am still “finding my way” and hope to do so for the rest of my life). I walked through the doors of this interior design store and was changed for the next decade. I was drawn in to this abstract interpretation of interiors. The owner used rustic pieces such as ancient asian wood pieces mixed with crisp white slipcovered chairs. The juxtaposition of oversized rough antiques to the clean lines of white furniture was so moving. I decided to take that with me as I moved forward with my goals in art and design.

Just before coming to Charleston, I read the latest House Beautiful magazine and found that one of the feature articles was about Kay Douglass and an interior she designed. It is the September 2012 issue page 115 if you want to look through it. I knew that I needed to visit this shop again once I got into town. It did not disappoint! You can understand the intense and dramatic mix of abstract and refined when you look at these pictures.

I spent the rest of my day ordering bedding and accessories for the model at the Heritage at Arlington which is the luxury apartment complex I am the lead designer of with developers Taft Family Offices in Greenville at the intersection of 5th and Arlington. I not only get to specify, decorate, and order all the materials, finishes, and furniture for this clubhouse but I also do the same for the model. Today, I ordered all of the crisp and fresh bedding for the model. I can not wait to show you! Here is the website     http://southofmarket.biz

On a different note, I learned a bit more about history today… the classic “Charleston” style house seems to face sideways. If you look at the picture, you can see some interesting elements. The Piazzas face south or west for breezes, the Piazza floors slope down for rain to run off, there is a door on the “Front” or side for privacy… They are only one room wide. “After the earthquake of 1886, homes were retrofitted with long metal rods running the length of the building ad capped with rod covers.”  I recently heard that the very thing that the Charlestonians thought would help hold the buildings together in an earthquake will actually result in the demise of the buildings. It is thought that before the rods, the buildings were flexible and could withstand the tremors of earthquakes, but now with a stiff rod between the joists, it makes them so rigid that they would crumble in a quake. Interesting huh?

Thank you more than you know for reading like you do. It keeps me company.

xoxo

Jordan

